Speakers

Register now

Rae Kwon Chung

Member of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee, High-level Expert and Leaders Panel (HELP) on water and disasters, Adviser to the Chair, Contributor to the reports of the IPCC, awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007

The scientist’s contribution to the work of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change was rewarded by Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. For a long time, Rae Kwon Chung was Chief Advisor to United-Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-moon on climate change issues.

Now the scientist is a member of The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee and has the position of Advisor to the Chairman of the Group of Leaders and Experts on Water and Natural Disasters with United-Nations Secretary General.

Dr Rae Kwon Chung is a universally recognized global expert and one of the most enthusiastic supporters of green growth. This concept substantially complements the sustainable development strategy, the main principle of which is economy growth with the preservation of the ecological balance for the benefit of the future generations.

Rae Kwon Chung closely associates the forthcoming energy technology changes with the new economy and even politics. He is convinced that transition to “green” investments depends on political will and can never be initiated by the market. It is competent actions of public institutions, giving up short-term profit and refocusing on ecology as the main growth driver that will make national economies competitive. According to the scientist’s estimate, the new economic reality can actually be achieved already by 2030.

Спикеры

Заявка на участие

Рае Квон Чунг

Член международного комитета по присуждению премии «Глобальная энергия»

Вклад ученого в работу Межправительственной группы экспертов по изменению климата отмечен Нобелевской премией в 2007 году. Долгое время Рае Квон Чунг являлся главным советником Генерального Секретаря ООН Пан Ги Муна по вопросам изменения климата.

Сейчас ученый входит в состав Международного комитета по присуждению Премии «Глобальная энергия» и занимает должность советника Председателя Группы лидеров и экспертов высокого уровня по проблемам воды и стихийным бедствиям при Генеральном Секретаре ООН.

Доктор Чунг Рае Квон – общепризнанный мировой эксперт и один из самых ярких сторонников «зеленого роста». Эта концепция существенно дополняет стратегию устойчивого развития, основной принцип которой – экономический рост при сохранении экологического баланса в интересах будущих поколений.

Рае Квон Чунг тесно связывает предстоящие технологические перемены в области энергетики с новой экономикой и даже политикой. Он убежден, что переход к «зеленым» инвестициям зависит от политической воли, и никогда не будет продиктован рынком. Именно грамотные действия государственных институтов, отказ от краткосрочной выгоды и переориентация на экологию как основной драйвер роста, позволят экономикам разных стран быть конкурентоспособными. По оценке ученого, новая экономическая реальность вполне достижима уже к 2030 году.