Register now

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson

Chairman of the Arctic Circle, President of Iceland 1996-2016

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson was the President of Iceland for twenty years, 1996-2016; elected five times in nationwide elections. He now serves as the Chairman of the Arctic Circle, which he founded in 2013 with various Arctic partners. The Arctic Circle Assembly held in Iceland every October is the largest annual international gathering on the Arctic, attended by 2000 participants from 50 countries: heads of states and governments, officials, experts, scientists, business leaders, indigenous representatives, environmentalists, students, and others. The Arctic Circle has also organized Forums in Alaska, Singapore, Greenland, Québec and Washington, D.C.

Prior to becoming President, Grímsson served as Minister of Finance, Member of Parliament, and was the first Professor of Political Science at the University of Iceland. In the 1980s and early 1990s, he was the President of Parliamentarians for Global Action, an international organization of legislators.

For decades, Grímsson has actively participated in the global climate dialogue and during his Presidency initiated and promoted clean energy projects in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Europe, the United States and the Americas; especially using Icelandic achievements and technologies as a model. Cooperation with Sinopec has led to the largest geothermal projects in the world, building clean energy urban heating systems in a multitude of Chinese cities. He has also worked closely with Abu Dhabi in its clean energy program and serves as Chairman of the Jury of the Zayed Future Energy Prize. Grímsson serves on the Advisory Board of Sustainable Energy for All, created by the United Nations and the World Bank.

Grímsson is also involved in international cooperation on the oceans and the evolution of sustainable use of marine resources. He has received many international awards, including the Nehru Award for International Understanding, presented by the President of India; and has lectured at universities in many countries.

Спикеры

Заявка на участие

Олафур Рагнар Гримсон

Председатель международного форума «Арктический круг». Президент Исландии (1996-2016)

Олафур Рагнар Гримсон был Президентом Исландии на протяжении 20 лет, с 1996 г. по 2016 г.; избирался пять раз на общенациональных выборах. В настоящее время занимает пост Председателя международного форума «Арктический Круг» (Arctic Circle), который он основал в 2013 г. вместе с партнерами по Арктическому региону. Ассамблея Арктического круга, проводимая в Исландии каждый год в октябре, является крупнейшим ежегодным международным мероприятием в Арктике, в котором принимают участие свыше 2000 человек из 50 стран: главы государств, правительств, официальные лица, эксперты, ученые, крупные бизнесмены, представители коренных народов, специалисты по вопросам окружающей среды, студенты и др. Арктический круг также проводит форумы на Аляске, в Сингапуре, Гренландии, Квебеке и Вашингтоне.

До президентства Г-н Гримсон занимал пост Министра финансов, был Членом Парламента, а также первым Профессором политических наук в Исландском университете. В 1980х и в начале 1990х годах он был Президентом международной организации законодателей «Парламентарии за глобальные действия».

На протяжении десятилетий Г-н Гримсон принимал активное участие в глобальном климатическом диалоге, и во время своего президентства выступал инициатором и продвигал проекты в области энергетики в Азии, Африке, на Ближнем Востоке, в Европе, США, Северной и Южной Америке; главным образом, используя в качестве образца достижения и технологии Исландии. Результатом сотрудничества с Sinopec стали крупнейшие в мире геотермальные проекты, строительство систем городского отопления на основе чистых источников энергии во многих городах Китая. Кроме того, он тесно сотрудничал с Абу-Даби по вопросам программы развития чистой энергетики, а также является Председателем жюри премии Zayed Future Energy Prize. Г-н Гримсон является членом Консультативного совета инициативы «Устойчивая энергетика для всех», созданной ООН и Всемирным банком.

Г-н Гримсон также принимает участие в международном сотрудничестве по вопросам океанов и развития рационального использования морских ресурсов. Он получил много международных наград, включая Премию имени Неру за вклад в достижение международного взаимопонимания, врученную Президентом Индии; а также проводит лекции в университетах многих стран.